I had a good weekend. Not a special one, not a particularly great one (bar the company) just a good one – a solid weekend, especially when compared to recent experience. We went to visit pets at home and see the small furry animals and the fish, went to the park for a bit, shopping, just stuff. Solid weekendy stuff. It was pretty darn good. Mr Fantastic was here ALL WEEKEND and that made even the worst (kids, meltdowns, tantrums, fights) moments bearable. He seems to hold my smiles. 

I’ve noticed that my mum guilt has lessened. Although it’s increased when it comes to me being out of the house more and actually leaving the childers for some lengths of time in each other’s (or others) company, it’s lessened in regards to the holiday guilt I had last year. 

I don’t feel the drive to make it marvellous – I’m content for them to relax and have fun, in their own way, in their own time, with me or without, and just make the most of it without being hounded out the door to school every morning and forced to suffer the cruelty of other children or the indignity of not feeling good enough. It’s a good thing, to relax. And they need to learn how.

